International Journal of Tryptophan Research

Submit a Paper

Editorial Board

Deputy Editor in Chief

The deputy editor in chief provides support to the editor in chief on editorial decision-making, and is responsible for editorial-decisions when the editor in chief is unavailable or has declared a conflict of interest. 

Edwin Lim, PhD

Dr Edwin Lim is a Senior Research Fellow in the Department of Biomedical Sciences at the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences of Macquarie University, Australia. He graduated with a BSc (Hons I) majoring in Pharmacology and Biochemistry in 2006 and received his Ph.D. in Pharmacology with a focus on neuroinflammation and neurodegeneration in 2011 from University of New South Wales. He had a three-year fellowship awarded by Multiple Sclerosis Research Australia and presently an Early Career Research Fellow awarded by Society of Mental Health Research.  

Dr Lim has a profound interest in studying the changes in tryptophan metabolism during the progression of human pathological conditions. His goal is to understand how changes in the tryptophan metabolism may affect the five essential physiological functions: protein synthesis, mood/behavioral, sleep, immune regulation and neurotransmission. His research, in turn, will have implication for translation into biomarker discovery and also devise therapeutic strategies to target various diseases. Dr Lim has served as principal investigator and chief investigator in several national competitive and industrial partnership funded research projects. He currently has 28 peer-reviewed publications and ad hoc reviewer for eight scientific journals. Dr Lim holds two patents and has been representing Australia as “Ambassador of Science” for Young Scientist Exchange program with China. He was also recently selected to participate in 2016 Global Young Scientists Summit.

Editorial Board

The editorial board is the journal's primary source of peer reviewers and members occasionally provide assistance to the editor in chief.  The editor in chief welcomes applications from suitable candidates to join the editorial board.  Further information on the editorial board is available here.

Nashat Abumaria, DPharm, PhD
Junior Group Leader, Center for Learning and Memory, School of Medicine, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China

Abdulla Abu-Bakr Badawy, PhD, FRCPath
Honorary Professor of Clinical Biochemistry, Cardiff Metropolitan University, Llandaff Campus, Cardiff, Wales, UK

Maria Laura Belladonna, PhD
Department of Experimental Medicine, Section of Pharmacology, University of Perugia, Perugia, Italy

Adriano Boasso, PhD
Wellcome Trust Research Fellow, Imperial College, Faculty of Medicine, Department of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases, Immunology Section, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, London, England

Bruce James Brew, MBBS MD FRACP
Professor of Medicine (Neurology), University of New South Wales; and Head of Neurology, Program Director (Medicine), Department of Neurology, St Vincent's Hospital, Sydney, Australia

Stuart Jay Chaskes, MS
Associate Professor of Biology, Biology Department, School of Arts and Sciences, Farmingdale State College of New York, Farmingdale, New York, USA

M. Mohamed Essa, Ph.D, FLS (UK), FICS
Assistant Professor, Department of Food Sciences and Nutrition, College of Agricultural and Marine Sciences, Sultan Qaboos University, Muscat, Sultanate of Oman

Francesca Fallarino, PhD
Department of Experimental Medicine and Biochemical Science, University of Perugia, Perugia, Italy

Dietmar Fuchs, MSc, PhD
Professor, Division of Biological Chemistry, Biocenter, Innsbruck Medical University, Innsbruck, Austria

Xenia Gonda, PhD
Department of Pharmacodynamics, and Department of Clinical and Theoretical Mental Health, Faculty of Medicine, Semmelweis University, Budapest, Hungary

Ross Grant, MAppSc, PhD
Department of Pharmacology, Faculty of Medicine, School of Medical Sciences, University of New South Wales, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Nicholas H. Hunt, PhD
Professor, Molecular Immunopathology Unit, Bosch Institute and School of Medical Sciences, University of Sydney, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Jolanta Jaworek, PhD, MD
Head of Department of Medical Physiology, Faculty of Health Sciences, Jagiellonian University CM, Krakow, Poland

Michael Kirsch, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Medical Biochemistry, Faculty of Medicine, University Hospital of Essen, Essen, Germany

Yu Liu, PhD
Department of Chemistry, State Key Laboratory of Elemento-Organic Chemistry, Nankai University, Tianjin, China

Eduard Maron, PhD, MD
Professor, Department of Psychiatry, University of Tartu, Tartu, Estonia

Ali A. Moosavi-Movahedi, PhD
Professor of Biophysical Chemistry, Institute of Biochemistry and Biophysics, University of Tehran, Tehran, Iran

Francisco J. Morales, PhD
Group of Quality, Safety and Bioactivity of Thermally Processed Foods, Institute of Food Science, Technology and Nutrition (ICTAN), Spanish National Research Council (CSIC), Madrid, Spain

Flavio Moroni, MD
Professor, Department of Preclinical and Clinical Pharmacology, University of Florence, Firenze, Italy

Alexander J. Muller, PhD

Associate Professor, Lankenau Institute for Medical Research, Wynnewood, Pennsylvania, USA

Norbert Müller, PhD, MD
Professor, Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich, Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy, Munich, Germany

David A. Nielsen, PhD
Associate Professor, Menninger Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Director of the Toomin Laboratory for Psychiatric Genetics, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas, USA

Yoshiji Ohta, PhD
Department of Chemistry, Fujita Heath University School of Medicine, Toyoake, Aichi, Japan

Sergio D. Paredes, PhD
Department of Physiology, School of Medicine, Complutense University of Madrid, Madrid, Spain

Robert S. Phillips, PhD
Professor, Department of Chemistry; Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, University of Georgia, Athens, Georgia, USA

Michael Platten, MD
Department of Neurooncology and Experimental Neuroimmunology Group, University Hospital Heidelberg; and German Cancer Research Center, Heidelberg, Germany

Martin Reuter, PhD
Professor, Department of Psychology, Vice-Director of the Center for Economics & Neuroscience (CENs), University of Bonn, Bonn, Germany

Ana Beatriz Rodriguez-Moratinos, PhD
Professor, Department of Physiology, Faculty of Science, University of Extremadura, Badajoz, Spain

Robert Schwarcz, PhD
Professor, Maryland Psychiatric Research Center, Department of Psychiatry, University of Maryland School of Medicine, Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Trevor W. Stone, BPharm, PhD, DSc, FBPharmacolS, HonFRCP(Lond)
Professor of Pharmacology, Institute of Neuroscience and Psychology, College of Medical, Veterinary & Life Sciences, West Medical Building, University of Glasgow, Glasgow, Scotland

Shane Thomas, PhD
Head, Redox Cell Signalling Group, Centre for Vascular Research, School of Medical Sciences, University of New South Wales, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

László Vécsei, PhD
Director, Department of Neurology, Dean of the Medical Faculty, University of Szeged, Faculty of Medicine Albert Szent-Györgyi Clinical Center, Szeged, Hungary

David W. Walker, PhD, DSc
Ritchie Centre for Baby Health Research, Monash Institute of Medical Research, Clayton, Melbourne, Australia

Ernst R. Werner, PhD
Professor, Division of Biological Chemistry, Biocentre, Innsbruck Medical University, Innsbruck, Austria

  • Efficient Processing: 4 Weeks Average to First Editorial Decision
  • Fair & Independent Expert Peer Review
  • High Visibility & Extensive Database Coverage
Services for Authors

Quick Links

New article and journal news notification services